Page 1 of 1

Aspen Max Upgrade

Posted: Wed Jul 29, 2020 1:39 pm
by N645XL
I pre-purchased the Aspen Max upgrade 16 months ago. It was finally installed yesterday. I had a chance to fly it for about 2 1/2 hours and I’m very impressed. I also had the audio panel interface connected so altitude and terrain alerts come through the headsets.There are other features that give it the airline cockpit look and feel but overall I am pleased with it.

Re: Aspen Max Upgrade

Posted: Thu Jul 30, 2020 10:48 pm
by paulmilo
1 or 3 screens? Any pictures?

Re: Aspen Max Upgrade

Posted: Thu Jul 30, 2020 11:14 pm
by N645XL
1 and pictures at a later date.

Re: Aspen Max Upgrade

Posted: Fri Jul 31, 2020 1:14 pm
by marvbrito69
You would have the screen of the vm-1000 for sale

Re: Aspen Max Upgrade

Posted: Fri Jul 31, 2020 7:16 pm
by Bigphoto
Before I sold my aircraft here is the 2000 Aspen IMAX with IFD-540/440, STEC-30 and Garmin 345 transponder

Re: Aspen Max Upgrade

Posted: Fri Jul 31, 2020 7:18 pm
by Bigphoto
Here is Aspen 2000 Max in XL-2

Re: Aspen Max Upgrade

Posted: Fri Jul 31, 2020 9:12 pm
by N645XL
Bigphoto - Did you wire the Aspen Max’s audio output into the audio panel?

I had them do that while they had it in the shop. I like that it warns me +/- my target altitudes. If you have the terrain feature it announces collision warnings too.

Re: Aspen Max Upgrade

Posted: Fri Jul 31, 2020 9:26 pm
by GimpyPilot
There's an AD on those that came this morning that requires an addition the flight manual which restricts them to Day/VFR flight as there have been some instances of random resets in flight. It's not an issue for mine since I retained all of the round gauges as well. Aspen has, or is about to release a software patch to deal with the issue.

-Michael

Re: Aspen Max Upgrade

Posted: Mon Aug 03, 2020 6:49 pm
by Bigphoto
I did have them hard wire it into my communication panel too. Glad that Aspen has a fix as that would be a drag if you had to restrict it to Day/VFR if you took out the gauges.

Re: Aspen Max Upgrade

Posted: Mon Aug 03, 2020 7:14 pm
by N645XL
My unit was installed with the latest software version. S/N 0115 is good to go.